

Minutes of Committee of the Whole - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

August 19, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Maggie Burton Councillor Dave Lane Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Deanne Stapleton

Councillor Jamie Korab
Councillor Ian Froude

Regrets: Councillor Wally Collins

Councillor Debbie Hanlon

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor

Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services

Elaine Henley, City Clerk

Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Maureen Harvey, Legislative Assistant

Brian Head, Manager of Parks & Open Space

David Crowe, Manager of Roads

Garrett Donaher, Manager of Transportation Engineering

Edmundo Fausto, Sustainability Coordinator

Public Works & Sustainability - Councillor Ian Froude

FCM Community Energy Financing Program Design Application

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Froude
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council support the application to GMF's Community Energy Financing Program Design initiative and further;

That Council provide up to \$5,000 from the approved \$100,000 Sustainability momentum initiatives funds to the CEF Program Design application to enable the partnership to access up to \$80,000 in matching funds from FCM.

For (7): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

Tourism and Culture - Councillor Debbie Hanlon

Membership for Arts and Culture Advisory Committee

In the absence of Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Burton presented the recommendation:

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council appoint the following members as per the selection review process already undertaken:

- One vacancy representing a Theatre organization; Nicole Rousseau (RCA Theatre Company)
- One vacancy representing a Public Member (Community); Tim Matson (Best Kind Productions)

For (7): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

<u>Planning & Development - Councillor Maggie Burton</u>

11 Tiffany Lane, REZ2000001

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Froude

That Council consider amendments to the St. John's Development Regulations to add Personal Care Home to the Apartment High Density (A3) Zone, and to rezone land at 11 Tiffany Lane from the Residential Medium Density (R2) Zone to the Apartment High Density (A3) Zone, and approve the attached draft terms of reference for a land-use assessment report (LUAR).

Further, upon submission of the LUAR, that Council refer the application to a digital Public Meeting chaired by an independent facilitator for public input and feedback.

For (8): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (8 to 0)

13.2 Mobile Vending Review Committee

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council approve the formation of an interim Mobile Vending Review Committee and to appoint Jeff LeDrew, owner of Jumping Bean as the traditional sector representative and Todd Hickey, owner of Ziggys as representation of the Mobile Vending Association.

For (8): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (8 to 0)

<u>Transportation and Regulatory Services - Councillor Sandy Hickman</u>

Donegal Place Traffic Calming

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Hickman
Seconded By Councillor Korab

That Council maintain status quo and not allocate special funding for the requested curb extension on Larkhall Street at Donegal Place.

For (4): Mayor Breen, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, and Councillor Korab

Against (4): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, and Councillor Froude

MOTION LOST (4 to 4)

As the motion was lost, the matter will be placed on the Regular Meeting Agenda of August 31, 2020 for further discussion.

				_
			Mayo	r