# ST. J@HN'S

Minutes of Committee of the Whole - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

July 22, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present:	Mayor Danny Breen Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary Councillor Dave Lane Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Debbie Hanlon Councillor Deanne Stapleton Councillor Hope Jamieson Councillor Jamie Korab Councillor Jamie Korab Councillor Ian Froude Councillor Wally Collins
Regrets:	Councillor Maggie Burton
Staff:	Kevin Breen, City Manager Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering & Regulatory Services Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Karen Chafe, Supervisor - Office of the City Clerk
Others	Edmundo Fausto, Sustainability Co-ordinator Christa Norman, Special Projects Co-ordinator

# 1. <u>Call to Order</u>

### 2. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Recommendation Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That the agenda be adopted as presented.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

#### MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

#### 3. <u>Adoption of the Minutes</u>

#### 3.1 Adoption of Minutes - July 8, 2020

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Lane Seconded By Councillor Froude

That the minutes of July 8, 2020 be adopted as presented.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

#### MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

#### 4. <u>Presentations/Delegations</u>

# 4.1 Presentation by PerSIStence Theatre Company re: Votes for Women 100

Jenn Deon of PerSIStence Theatre Company conducted a presentation regarding an event entitled "Votes for Women 100" scheduled to take place in October 2021.

The project overview is as follows:

1. Oversee the development, promotion and implementation of all activities that commemorate and reflect upon 100 years of women gaining the right to vote in the municipality of St. John's, becoming the first women

in Newfoundland and Labrador to achieve the right to do so

2. Promote the continuing relevance of intersectional feminism through all activities

Four main events scheduled are as follows:

1. Ladies Reading Rooms – first Tuesday of each month at the E.B. Foran room from April-October 2021, each themed to a different aspect of the struggle for women's equality in both 1921 & 2021

2. Women's March Through Time - Sat Oct 16, 2021

3. The Mirror, by Trudy Morgan-Cole – a professional theatre production surrounding the life of Armine

Gosling, LSPU Hall from Oct 20-24, 2021

4. Commemorative statue of Armine Gosling placed in Bannerman Park – unveiling Oct 23, 2021

The request to the City is as follows:

- 1. In-kind
- Permissions and infrastructure support for Women's March TBD
- Permission to install a statue in Bannerman Park
- Enthusiasm, participation and promotion!
- 2. Financial
- 2020

• An additional \$5,000 to our 2020 arts jury grant, for a total of \$10,000 towards project administration

• 2021 (anticipated)

• An additional \$5,000 to our 2021 arts jury grant, for an expected total of \$10,000 towards project administration

• Statue sponsorship in 2021 (TBD – expected levels to range from \$2,500-\$10,000)

A discussion period ensued with the Committee expressing gratitude to the organization for taking on this important and memorable initiative. It was agreed that Council would consider the request and respond once it has done so.

# 5. Finance & Administration - Councillor Dave Lane

# 6. Public Works & Sustainability - Councillor lan Froude

- 6.1 Environment and Sustainability Experts Panel Report June 26, 2020
  - 1. Review of Parking Requirements for Section 8 of the Envision St. John's Development Regulations

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

That Council consider electric vehicle spaces in new construction regulations.

That Council consider providing guidance for bicycle spaces and facilities in new construction regulations.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

## MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

- 7. <u>Community Services Councillor Jamie Korab</u>
- 8. Special Events Councillor Hope Jamieson
- 9. Housing Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary
- 10. Economic Development Mayor Danny Breen
- 11. <u>Tourism and Culture Councillor Debbie Hanlon</u>
- 12. <u>Governance & Strategic Priorities Mayor Danny Breen</u>
- 13. Planning & Development Councillor Maggie Burton
- 14. <u>Transportation and Regulatory Services Councillor Sandy Hickman</u>
- 15. <u>Other Business</u>
- 16. Adjournment

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 9:47 am.

Mayor