

Report of Committee of the Whole - City Council Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

June 10, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Councillor Maggie Burton
Councillor Dave Lane
Councillor Sandy Hickman
Councillor Debbie Hanlon
Councillor Deanne Stapleton
Councillor Hope Jamieson
Councillor Jamie Korab
Councillor Ian Froude
Councillor Wally Collins

Regrets: Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works

Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor

Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services

Elaine Henley, City Clerk

Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Shanna Fitzgerald, Legislative Assistant

Garrett Donaher, Manager of Transportation Engineering

Others Karen Sherriffs, Manager - Community Development

Crystal Barron, Community Services Coordinator

Jennifer McGrath, Fieldworker II

Marc Dyke, GIS Developer Desktop/Web

Community Services - Councillor Jamie Korab

Neighborhood Profiles - Connecting St. John's Neighborhoods

This matter was approved via e-poll on June 16th, 2020.

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Stapleton

Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council approve the launch of phase one of Neighbourhood Profiles – Connecting St John's.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

Housing - Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Affordable Housing Working Group Membership

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Jamieson
Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council appoint Curtis Mercer as the temporary representative for CHBA and reaffirm the membership of the following members to the Affordable Housing Working Group:

- 1. Gail Thornhill, Stella's Circle extend until May 2022
- 2. Jill Snow, CMHC extend until May 2022
- 3. Andrew Harvey, First Light NL extend until May 2022
- 4. Ayon Shahed, Choices for Youth extend until December 2020

For (10): Mayor Breen, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

Planning & Development - Councillor Maggie Burton

Built Heritage Experts Panel Report - May 27, 2020

69 Patrick Street, Exterior Renovation

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Burton

Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council approve the design for exterior renovations at 69 Patrick Street, as proposed.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

25 Sea Rose Avenue, REZ2000002

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That Council consider rezoning the property at 25 Sea Rose Avenue from the Commercial Regional (CR) Zone to the Commercial Office (CO) Zone. Further, that the application be advertised for public review and comment and that the applicant provide a shadow analysis prior to public notification.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

<u>Transportation and Regulatory Services - Councillor Sandy Hickman</u>

Quidi Vidi Village Traffic Complaints

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Jamieson

Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council approve the installation of temporary speed cushions for the 2020 season in Quidi Vidi Village with further monitoring of the traffic and parking issues and further survey of residents for possible permanent installation in 2021. Further, that the area east of Quidi Vidi Village be referred for consideration to the 2021 capital budget.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)
Mayor