

Report of Inclusion Advisory Committee

June 3, 2020 11:30 a.m. Virtual

Present: Taylor Stocks, Chair - LGBTQ2S

Councillor Deanne Stapleton, Council Representative

Debbie Ryan, CNIB

Donna Power, Metrobus/GoBus, Accessible Transit

Heidi Dixon, First Light NL

Kim Pratt Baker, Can Hard of Hearing Assoc

Margaret Tibbo, Public Rep

Megan McGie, NL Assoc for Deaf

Sarah White, Autism Society Joby Fleming, Empower NL

Trevor Freeborn, Coalition of Persons with Disabilities

Regrets: Dave Saunders, Public Rep

Grant Genova, NL Assoc of Architects, Universal Design

Kimberly Yetman-Dawson, Empower NL

Nancy Reid, Coalition of Persons with Disabilities

Tess Hemeon, Autism Society

Tilak Chawan, Association for New Canadians

Hope Colbourne, NL Association for Community Living

Staff: Natalie Godden, Manager of Family & Leisure Services

Vanessa Bambrick, Acting Inclusive Services Coordinator

Trisha Rose, Fieldworker III, Inclusion Services

Shanna Fitzgerald, Legislative Assistant

Victoria Etchegary, Manager - Organizational Performance &

Strategy

David Crowe, Manager - Roads

Inclusion Advisory Committee (IAC) Terms of Reference Review

Recommendation

Moved By Joby Fleming

Seconded By Margaret Tibbo

That Council approve the following changes to the IAC Terms of Reference:

Under Section 3.1 Composition

Change the committee composition to read:

The Advisory Committee will be comprised of a minimum of 11 and a maximum of 18 total members from the following stakeholder groups:

The Committee will be comprised of no more than 10 staff persons/board members representing agencies relevant to persons with disabilities and persons facing other barriers as follows:

- 1. Coalition of Persons with Disabilities NL (CODNL)
- 2. Empower
- 3. Association for Community Living
- 4. NL Association for the Deaf (NLAD)
- 5. GoBus (Metrobus)
- 6. CNIB
- 7. Autism Society NL
- 8. Canadian hard of Hearing Association NL
- Association for New Canadians
- 10. First Light NL

Representatives of seven (7) organizations or individuals that support persons facing other barriers to participation in the community. Efforts will be made to include the following sectors:

- 1. Mental Health
- 2. Poverty
- Universal Design/Accessibility
- 4. LGBTQ2S

- 5. Physical and Neurological Disabilities
- 6. Anti-Racism
- 7. Women

The Committee will be comprised of no more than 5 residents serving as public members who are members of the inclusion community, their caregivers and/or persons facing other barriers.

Under Section 5.2 Eligibility and Selection

Change point 2 to read:

Organizational representatives must be based in or serve/do business within the City of St. John's and have decision making authority with the agency they represent.

Under section 7.2 Meetings and Schedules

Change the meeting location to read:

Unless otherwise specified (generally one week prior to a meeting) advisory committee meetings shall be held at City facilities or via accessible video/virtual meeting platforms and shall be closed to the public

Section 7.2 Meetings and Schedules:

Unless otherwise specified advisory committee meetings shall be held at City facilities or via accessible video/virtual meeting platforms.

MOTION CARRIED

CHAIRPERSON, TAYLOR STOCKS	;