ST. J@HN'S

Minutes of Committee of the Whole - City Council Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

March 4, 2025, 3:00 p.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Maggie Burton
Councillor Sandy Hickman

Councillor Jill Bruce

Councillor Ophelia Ravencroft Councillor Greg Noseworthy

Councillor Tom Davis
Councillor Carl Ridgeley

Regrets: Councillor Ron Ellsworth

Councillor Debbie Hanlon

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Corporate

Services

Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services
Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor

Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner

Theresa Walsh, City Clerk

Stacey Baird, Legislative Assistant

1. 425 Blackmarsh Road (Welland Street) - REZ2500001

Councillor Hickman inquired if there were any plans to develop the land behind 425 Blackmarsh Road. He was under the impression that the property was to

serve as an access point to the land. The Chief Municipal Planner responded that the land would likely be developed and that access to it was not an issue.

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Noseworthy

That Council consider rezoning a portion of land at 425 Blackmarsh Road, between 48 and 56 Welland Street, from the Apartment 2 (A2) Zone to the Residential 3 (R3) Zone to enable the creation of one new lot for a Single Detached Dwelling.

Further, that the application be publicly advertised in accordance with the Envision St. John's Development Regulations.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Noseworthy, Councillor Davis, and Councillor Ridgeley

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

2. 9 Buchanan Street - SGN2400132 - Ground Signs

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Burton

Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council approve three (3) ground signs located at 9 Buchanan Street, facing Water Street, as proposed.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Noseworthy, Councillor Davis, and Councillor Ridgeley

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)