ST. J@HN'S

Committee of the Whole Report - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

February 4, 2025, 3:00 p.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Councillor Ron Ellsworth
Councillor Sandy Hickman

Councillor Jill Bruce

Councillor Greg Noseworthy

Councillor Tom Davis
Councillor Carl Ridgeley

Regrets: Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Maggie Burton
Councillor Debbie Hanlon
Councillor Ophelia Ravencroft

Staff: Derek Coffey, Acting City Manager

Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works

Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner

Theresa Walsh, City Clerk

Jackie O'Brien, Manager of Corporate Communications

Jennifer Squires, Legislative Assistant

Others Nicholas Kuhl, O2 Planning & Design

Sarah Lumley, O2 Planning & Design

Ute Maya Giambattista, O2 Planning & Design

Corrina Dawe, Tract Consulting Meaghan Carey, RC Strategies

1. Recreation Master Plan

Representatives from RC Strategies and Tract Consulting were in attendance to provide Council with an overview of the new Recreation Master Plan. Through research and engagement, the plan has been created and includes service delivery recommendations, tactical actions, infrastructure strategies, and a decision-making framework to guide implementation. The Plan will allow the City to continue to build on the work that is currently taking place within the City, plan for future growth and help the City to meet the future needs of residents. Members of Council voiced their support of the Recreation Master Plan, noting the importance of a regional approach to recreation and the value in removing barriers to increase the accessibility of programs to residents.

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Bruce

Seconded By Councillor Ellsworth

That Council approve the adoption of the new Recreation Master Plan to ensure the continued provision of high-quality recreation services that meet the needs of all residents and contribute to the overall well-being of the community.

For (7): Mayor Breen, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Noseworthy, Councillor Davis, and Councillor Ridgeley

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

2. Built Heritage Experts Panel – Call for Members

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Ellsworth

Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council approve of the appointment of the following to the Built Heritage Experts Panel:

- Anika Bursey Planner
- Matt C Reynolds Architect
- Aaron Terry Other with Demonstrated Relative Experience

For (7): Mayor Breen, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Noseworthy, Councillor Davis, and Councillor Ridgeley

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)