

# **Minutes of Regular Meeting - City Council**

Council Chamber, 4th Floor, City Hall

March 13, 2023, 3:00 p.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Maggie Burton Councillor Ron Ellsworth Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Debbie Hanlon

Councillor Jill Bruce

Councillor Ophelia Ravencroft

Councillor Jamie Korab Councillor Ian Froude Councillor Carl Ridgeley

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works

Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor

Susan Bonnell, Manager, Communications & Office Services

Karen Chafe, City Clerk

Christine Carter, Legislative Assistant Stacey Corbett, Legislative Assistant

# **Land Acknowledgement**

The following statement was read into the record:

"We respectfully acknowledge the Province of Newfoundland & Labrador, of which the City of St. John's is the capital City, as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk. Today, these lands are home to a diverse population of indigenous and other peoples. We would also like to acknowledge with respect the diverse

histories and cultures of the Mi'kmaq, Innu, Inuit, and Southern Inuit of this Province."

# 1. CALL TO ORDER

# 2. PROCLAMATIONS/PRESENTATIONS

#### 3. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

#### 3.1 Adoption of Agenda

SJMC-R-2023-03-13/115

Moved By Councillor Ravencroft

Seconded By Councillor Bruce

That the Agenda be adopted as presented.

For (11): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Ridgeley

**MOTION CARRIED (11 to 0)** 

# 4. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES

# 4.1 Adoption of Minutes - March 6, 2023

SJMC-R-2023-03-13/116

Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

Seconded By Councillor Ridgeley

That the Minutes of March 6, 2023, be adopted as presented.

For (11): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Ridgeley

**MOTION CARRIED (11 to 0)** 

#### 5. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

# 6. DEVELOPMENT APPLICATIONS

# 6.1 Notices Published – 24 Airport Road - DEV2300016

SJMC-R-2023-03-13/117

Moved By Councillor Korab

Seconded By Councillor Bruce

That Council approve the Discretionary Use application to allow a Clinic Use at 24 Airport Road.

For (11): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Ridgeley

**MOTION CARRIED (11 to 0)** 

- 7. RATIFICATION OF EPOLLS
- 8. COMMITTEE REPORTS
- 9. <u>DEVELOPMENT PERMITS LIST (FOR INFORMATION ONLY)</u>
  - 9.1 <u>Development Permits List March 2 8, 2023</u>
- 10. BUILDING PERMITS LIST (FOR INFORMATION ONLY)
  - 10.1 **Building Permits List**
- 11. REQUISITIONS, PAYROLLS AND ACCOUNTS
  - 11.1 Weekly Payment Vouchers for Week Ending March 8, 2023

SJMC-R-2023-03-13/118

Moved By Councillor Ellsworth

**Seconded By** Councillor Hickman

That the weekly payment vouchers for the week ending March 8, 2023, in the amount of \$5,988,053.23, be approved as presented.

For (11): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Ridgeley

# **MOTION CARRIED (11 to 0)**

# 12. <u>TENDERS/RFPS</u>

# 13. NOTICES OF MOTION, RESOLUTIONS QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS

# 14. OTHER BUSINESS

# 14.1 techNL Innovation Centre

SJMC-R-2023-03-13/119

Moved By Councillor Froude

Seconded By Councillor Ridgeley

That Council approve the waiver of permit fees estimated value of \$22,000 in support of techNL's innovation centre

For (11): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Ellsworth, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Ridgeley

**MOTION CARRIED (11 to 0)** 

# 14.2 <u>Shea Heights Community Centre Board of Directors – New Board</u> <u>Appointment</u>

Councillor Ellsworth declared a conflict of interest and will abstain from voting.

SJMC-R-2023-03-13/120

Moved By Councillor Ridgeley

Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council approve the appointment of Linda Scanlon to the Shea Heights Board of Directors, within the 'At Large' category of the Board structure. For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Bruce, Councillor Ravencroft, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Ridgeley

Abstain (1): Councillor Ellsworth

**MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)** 

# 15. ACTION ITEMS RAISED BY COUNCIL

# 16. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

MAYOR
CITY CLERK