ST. J@HN'S

Report of Committee of the Whole - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

April 7, 2021, 9:30 a.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Debbie Hanlon Councillor Deanne Stapleton

Councillor Jamie Korab
Councillor Ian Froude
Councillor Wally Collins
Councillor Shawn Skinner

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works

Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services

Elaine Henley, City Clerk

Karen Chafe, Supervisor - Office of the City Clerk

Maureen Harvey, Legislative Assistant

Others Linda Bishop, Senior Legal Counsel

Ann Marie Cashin, Planner III

Anna Snook, Transportation Engineer

Judy Tobin, Manager of Affordable Housing

Krista Gladney, Affordable Housing and Development Facilitator

1. Interest Free Payment Plan

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Skinner Seconded By Councillor Hanlon That Council approve the creation of a monthly interest free payment program for residential taxpayers whose accounts are current and are set up for a preauthorized payment option only. This option would become effective April 1, 2021.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

2. Affordable Housing Catalyst Grant Allocations 2021

Recommendation

Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary **Seconded By** Councillor Skinner

That Council approve the recommended 2021 Housing Catalyst Grant allocations and retain the unawarded amount to the 2022 grant cycle.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

3. 130 Aberdeen Avenue, MPA1900006

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Stapleton **Seconded By** Councillor Hickman

That Council:

1) consider rezoning the property at 130 Aberdeen Avenue from the Commercial Regional (CR) Zone to the Apartment Medium Density (A2) and Residential High Density (R3) Zones to allow a residential development containing single detached dwellings, semi-detached dwellings, townhouses and apartment buildings; and following staff review, advertise the application for public review and comment;

- 2) direct staff to work with the St. John's International Airport Authority and the Province to determine the best approach to update the airport noise (NEF) maps and policies and bring back recommendations to Council; and
- 3) defer any future rezoning applications for new residential development within the 30 NEF line until Council makes a decision on new NEF maps and policies.

For (7): Mayor Breen, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

Against (2): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 2)

4. Re-Imagine Churchill Square Concept Plan

Discussed with agreement that the park across the street would be a good follow-up project to blend, and compliment Churchill Square.

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

That Council approve the proposed Re-imagine Churchill Square concept plan and it be referred for future capital works consideration to proceed with the detailed design and construction as funding becomes available.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

	MOTIC	ON CARRI	IED (9 to 0)
_			Mayor