ST. J@HN'S

Report of Committee of the Whole - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

September 30, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present:	Mayor Danny Breen Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary Councillor Dave Lane Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Debbie Hanlon Councillor Deanne Stapleton Councillor Jamie Korab Councillor Wally Collins
Regrets:	Councillor Maggie Burton Councillor Ian Froude
Staff:	Kevin Breen, City Manager Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering & Regulatory Services Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor Elaine Henley, City Clerk Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Maureen Harvey, Legislative Assistant
Others	Edmundo Fausto, Sustainability Coordinator Shelley Pardy, Marketing & Communications Katie Philpott, Legal Counsel

1. Asset Management Policy

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Hickman Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council approve the Asset Management Policy

For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

2. Community Energy Transition Economic Analysis

Edmundo Fausto presented the decision note.

Recommendation Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council support the development of a Community Energy Transition Model to inform the economic perspectives of the Resilient St. John's Climate Plan.

For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

3. Affordable Housing Working Group - Reporting

Recommendation Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That Council approve a new reporting process for the Affordable Housing Working Group (AHWG).

For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

4. Membership for Arts and Culture Advisory Committee

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Hanlon Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That Council appoint the following members as per the selection review process already undertaken:

- One vacancy representing a Dance organization; Lynn Panting (Untellable Movement Theatre)

- One vacancy representing a Cultural, Indigenous and Intangible Cultural Heritage organization; Lloydetta Quaicoe (Sharing Our Cultures Inc.)

For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

5. 52 Stamp's Lane, REZ2000006

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Korab Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council consider a text amendment to the St. John's Development Regulations to revise the definition of Subsidiary Apartment, and advertise the proposed amendment for public review and comment. For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

6. 314-316 LeMarchant Road, MPA 2000008

Recommendation Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary Seconded By Councillor Korab

That Council consider amendments to the St. John's Municipal Plan and Development Regulations to rezone land from the Commercial Industrial (CI) Zone to the Apartment High Density (A3) Zone at 314-316 LeMarchant Road for an 80-unit Apartment Building, and approve the attached draft terms of reference for a Land Use Assessment Report to consider an Apartment Building at this location.

Further, upon receiving a satisfactory Land Use Assessment Report, that Council refer the application to a digital Public Meeting chaired by an independent facilitator for public input and feedback.

For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

7. New Sign By-Law

To be brought forward at a later date.

8. Centre for Hope Springdale Street Parking Change

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Hickman Seconded By Councillor Hanlon That Council allocate the on-street parking on Springdale adjacent the Centre for Hope to 30 min parking between 8AM and 6PM, Monday to Friday.

For (7): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

Mayor