<u>ST. J@HN'S</u>

Minutes of Regular Meeting - City Council

Council Chamber, 4th Floor, City Hall

September 8, 2020, 3:00 p.m.

Present:	Mayor Danny Breen Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary Councillor Maggie Burton Councillor Dave Lane Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Debbie Hanlon
	•
	Councillor Debbie Hanlon Councillor Deanne Stapleton
	Councillor Jamie Korab
	Councillor Ian Froude
	Councillor Wally Collins

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering & Regulatory Services Elaine Henley, City Clerk Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Shanna Fitzgerald, Legislative Assistant

Land Acknowledgement

The following statement was read into the record:

"We respectfully acknowledge the Province of Newfoundland & Labrador, of which the City of St. John's is the capital City, as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk. Today, these lands are home to a diverse population of indigenous and other peoples. We would also like to acknowledge with respect the diverse histories and cultures of the Mi'kmaq, Innu, Inuit, and Southern Inuit of this Province."

1. CALL TO ORDER

2. PROCLAMATIONS/PRESENTATIONS

3. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

3.1 Adoption of Agenda

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/436 Moved By Councillor Korab Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That the Agenda be adopted as presented.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

4. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES

4.1 Adoption of Minutes - August 31, 2020

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/437 Moved By Councillor Hickman Seconded By Councillor Collins

That the minutes of the Regular meeting held on August 31, 2020 be adopted as presented.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

5. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

- 6. NOTICES PUBLISHED
- 7. <u>COMMITTEE REPORTS</u>
 - 7.1 <u>Development Committee Report</u>

1. <u>Request for Accessory Building in the Wetland Buffer - 62 Old</u> <u>Bay Bulls Road - INT2000080</u>

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/438 Moved By Councillor Burton Seconded By Councillor Collins

That Council approve the proposed 89sqm Accessory Building at 62 Old Bay Bulls Road in accordance with St. John's Development Regulations Section 11.2.4(2) and the applicable Accessory Building regulations under Section 8.3.6.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

8. <u>DEVELOPMENT PERMITS LIST (FOR INFORMATION ONLY)</u>

8.1 <u>Development Permits List for the Period of August 27, 2020 to</u> <u>September 3, 2020</u>

9. BUILDING PERMITS LIST

9.1 <u>Building Permits List for the Period of August 27 to September 2,</u> 2020

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/439 Moved By Councillor Burton Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council approve the Building Permits List for the period of August 27 to September 2, 2020.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

10. REQUISITIONS, PAYROLLS AND ACCOUNTS

10.1 <u>Weekly Payment Vouchers for the Week Ending September 2, 2020</u>

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/440 Moved By Councillor Lane Seconded By Councillor Froude

That Council approve the Weekly Payment Vouchers for the week ending September 2, 2020 in the amount of \$5,990,306.84.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

11. <u>TENDERS/RFPS</u>

11.1 2020129 - Victoria Park Playground Phase 3

Ratification of E-Poll

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/441 Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council ratify an e-poll approving the award of open call to the lowest bidder meeting specifications Coastline Specialties Ltd. for the sum of \$234,347.00 (HST included) as per the Public Procurement Act.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

11.2 <u>2020133 - Parks Signage</u>

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/442 Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Councillor Hanlon That Council award this open call to the lowest bidder that meets specifications, The Vinyl Frontier Signs Graphics & Vehicle Lettering, for \$48,938.83 (HST Included) as per the Public Procurement Act.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

11.3 2020137 - Ball Field Clay Products

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/443 Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Councillor Korab

That Council award this open call to the lowest bidder that meets specifications, Coastline Specialties Ltd. for \$50,270.71, as per the Public Procurement Act.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

12. NOTICES OF MOTION, RESOLUTIONS QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS

13. OTHER BUSINESS

13.1 <u>Council Appointment – St. John's Transportation Commission</u>

SJMC-R-2020-09-08/444

Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Councillor Collins

That Council appoint Councillor Debbie Hanlon to the St. John's Transportation Commission to replace former Councillor Hope Jamieson.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

Abstain (1): Councillor Hanlon

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

13.2 Go-Round

Councillor Froude requested that an item deferred from April 2018 regarding the Great Eastern Avenue pilot project be discussed at a future meeting of Council.

Deputy Mayor O'Leary and Councillor Stapleton requested that the Inclusion Advisory Committee review the Downtown Pedestrian Mall.

14. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:24 pm.

MAYOR

CITY CLERK