

Minutes of Committee of the Whole - City Council Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

August 19, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Maggie Burton
Councillor Dave Lane
Councillor Sandy Hickman
Councillor Deanne Stapleton
Councillor Jamie Korab
Councillor Ian Froude

Regrets: Councillor Wally Collins

Councillor Debbie Hanlon

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor

Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services

Elaine Henley, City Clerk

Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Maureen Harvey, Legislative Assistant

Brian Head, Manager of Parks & Open Space

David Crowe, Manager of Roads

Garrett Donaher, Manager of Transportation Engineering

Edmundo Fausto, Sustainability Coordinator

1. Call to Order

2. Approval of the Agenda

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Lane

Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That the agenda be adopted as presented.

For (7): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

3. Adoption of the Minutes

3.1 Adoption of Minutes - August 5, 2020

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Stapleton
Seconded By Councillor Burton

That the minutes of August 5, 2020 be adopted as presented.

For (7): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

- 4. <u>Presentations/Delegations</u>
- 5. Finance & Administration Councillor Dave Lane
- 6. Public Works & Sustainability Councillor Ian Froude
 - 6.1 Update of Resilient St. John's Planning Process

Councillor Ian Froude presented a profile, as attached, that provides Council and staff with a sense of the environmental changes coming and which will be used to guide City in preparing for those changes.

6.2 FCM Community Energy Financing Program Design Application

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Froude
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council support the application to GMF's Community Energy Financing Program Design initiative and further;

That Council provide up to \$5,000 from the approved \$100,000 Sustainability momentum initiatives funds to the CEF Program Design application to enable the partnership to access up to \$80,000 in matching funds from FCM.

For (7): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

6.3 What We Heard Sidewalk Snow Clearing Public Engagement

Councillor Froude presented the summary of engagement dealing with sidewalk snow clearing as attached. Staff will develop recommendations for Council's consideration in both the short and long term.

- 7. Community Services Councillor Jamie Korab
- 8. Special Events Councillor Jamie Korab
- 9. Housing Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary
- 10. Economic Development Mayor Danny Breen
- 11. Tourism and Culture Councillor Debbie Hanlon

11.1 Membership for Arts and Culture Advisory Committee

In the absence of Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Burton presented the recommendation:

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council appoint the following members as per the selection review process already undertaken:

 One vacancy representing a Theatre organization; Nicole Rousseau (RCA Theatre Company) One vacancy representing a Public Member (Community); Tim Matson (Best Kind Productions)

For (7): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (7 to 0)

12. Governance & Strategic Priorities - Mayor Danny Breen

13. Planning & Development - Councillor Maggie Burton

13.1 11 Tiffany Lane, REZ2000001

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Burton

Seconded By Councillor Froude

That Council consider amendments to the St. John's Development Regulations to add Personal Care Home to the Apartment High Density (A3) Zone, and to rezone land at 11 Tiffany Lane from the Residential Medium Density (R2) Zone to the Apartment High Density (A3) Zone, and approve the attached draft terms of reference for a land-use assessment report (LUAR).

Further, upon submission of the LUAR, that Council refer the application to a digital Public Meeting chaired by an independent facilitator for public input and feedback.

For (8): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (8 to 0)

13.2 Mobile Vending Review Committee

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Burton
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council approve the formation of an interim Mobile Vending Review Committee and to appoint Jeff LeDrew, owner of Jumping Bean as the traditional sector representative and Todd Hickey, owner of Ziggys as representation of the Mobile Vending Association.

For (8): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Froude

MOTION CARRIED (8 to 0)

13.3 Re-Imagine Churchill Square, Initial Public Engagement – What We Heard

Councillor Froude presented the report dealing with public feedback for the reconfiguration of Churchill Square. This will be considered by staff and Council moving forward.

14. <u>Transportation and Regulatory Services - Councillor Sandy Hickman</u>

14.1 Donegal Place Traffic Calming

Discussion took place with varying positions on staff's recommendation. Some Councillors asserted that, in spite of the traffic calming policy, the area warrants traffic calming and should be considered. Other Councillors stated that if the staff recommendation is rejected, they will bring forward similar requests for areas within their ward for further consideration.

The City Manager cautioned Council of the potential negative impact of not accepting the staff recommendation which is in keeping with the policy

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Hickman Seconded By Councillor Korab

That Council maintain status quo and not allocate special funding for the requested curb extension on Larkhall Street at Donegal Place.

For (4): Mayor Breen, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Stapleton, and Councillor Korab

Against (4): Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Lane, and Councillor Froude

MOTION LOST (4 to 4)

15. Other	Business
-----------	-----------------

1	6.	Adi	iou	rnn	nent
---	----	-----	-----	-----	------

Thora	haina	no further	hueinage	the meeting	adjourned	at 10:25 am
THEFE	being	no iuitiei	pusiliess	the meeting	aujoumeu	at 10.25 am

______Mayor