

Minutes of Committee of the Whole - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

March 11, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present: Mayor Danny Breen

Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary

Councillor Dave Lane

Councillor Sandy Hickman
Councillor Debbie Hanlon
Councillor Deanne Stapleton
Councillor Hope Jamieson
Councillor Jamie Korab
Councillor Ian Froude
Councillor Wally Collins

Regrets: Councillor Maggie Burton

Staff: Kevin Breen, City Manager

Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &

Regulatory Services

Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor Elaine Henley, City Clerk

Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner Shanna Fitzgerald, Legislative Assistant

Others Brian Head, Manager Parks & Open Spaces

Garrett Donaher, Manager Transportation Engineering

1. Call to Order

2. Approval of the Agenda

2.1 Adoption of Agenda

Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Jamieson

Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That the agenda be adopted as presented.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

3. Adoption of the Minutes

3.1 Adoption of Minutes - February 26, 2020

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Hanlon
Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That the minutes of February 26, 2020 be adopted as presented.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

- 4. <u>Presentations/Delegations</u>
- 5. <u>Finance & Administration Councillor Dave Lane</u>
- 6. Public Works & Sustainability Councillor Ian Froude
 - 6.1 Environment and Sustainability Expert Panel Public Membership

Deputy Mayor O'Leary recommended that the call for members for committees be tailored specifically for gender balance.

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Froude
Seconded By Councillor Lane

That Council approve the proposed composition of the Public Membership for the Environment and Sustainability Expert Panel:

Public Member and Expertise

Joel Finnis, PhD - Climate Science & Resilience Dennis Knight, MSc, MCIP - Sustainable Urban Planning & Economic Growth

Kieran Hanley, MBA - Sustainable Economic Growth Krista Langthorne, BA, SEBT - Resilience & Natural Resources Pablo Navarro - Socio-cultural & Quality of Life Joseph Daraio, PhD, PEng - Sustainable Urban Planning & Resilience Michel Wawrzkow, PEng, PGeo - Natural Environment & Resilience

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

6.2 Robin Hood Bay Landfill Gas Collection and Covering System Expansion 2020

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Froude
Seconded By Councillor Jamieson

That Council approve proceeding with the next phase of the landfill gas collection and covering system expansion in 2020. Further, that Council approve accessing the Robin Hood Bay Operational Reserve and Closure Funds to fund this capital works project.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

6.3 Robin Hood Bay (RHB) Equipment Reserve

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Froude
Seconded By Councillor Collins

That Council proceed with a purchase to supply and deliver new roll off bins for the Residential Drop-Off (RDO) facility and replace three site vehicles through the RHB Equipment Reserve with funding made available through the RHB Equipment Reserve.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

- 7. Community Services Councillor Jamie Korab
- 8. Special Events Councillor Hope Jamieson
- 9. Housing Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary
- 10. Economic Development Mayor Danny Breen
- 11. Tourism and Culture Councillor Debbie Hanlon
- 12. Governance & Strategic Priorities Mayor Danny Breen
- 13. Planning & Development Councillor Maggie Burton
- 14. Transportation and Regulatory Services Councillor Sandy Hickman

14.1 2018 Traffic Pilot Projects

Councillor Hickman withdrew the motion moved by him and seconded by Councillor Hanlon, to remove the pilot curb extensions and marked crosswalk at Ladysmith Drive and Kiwanis Street and monitor Ladysmith Drive for future warranted crosswalk improvements, and moved a new motion as follows:

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Hickman
Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council direct staff to initiate a permanent crosswalk and curb extensions at Ladysmith Drive and Kiwanis Street.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Hickman
Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council direct staff to:

- proceed with design and implementation of a permanent traffic circle configuration for Rawlins Cross.
- include the closed portion of Military, the existing parking lot, and the existing green space within the centre of Rawlins Cross in the scope for the public space design.

For (4): Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, and Councillor Froude

Against (5): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, and Councillor Collins

MOTION LOST (4 to 5)

Recommendation
Moved By Councillor Hickman
Seconded By Councillor Jamieson

That Council expand the Key 2 Access pilot project to include the two crosswalks at Rawlins Cross currently equipped with Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacons (RRFBs).

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Lane, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

15. Other Business

16. Adjournment

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 11:04 am.

		Mayor