ST. J@HN'S

Minutes of Regular Meeting - City Council

Council Chamber, 4th Floor, City Hall

February 10, 2020, 4:30 p.m.

Present:	Mayor Danny Breen
	Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary
	Councillor Maggie Burton
	Councillor Dave Lane
	Councillor Sandy Hickman
	Councillor Debbie Hanlon
	Councillor Deanne Stapleton
	Councillor Hope Jamieson
	Councillor Jamie Korab
	Councillor Ian Froude
	Councillor Wally Collins
Staff:	Kevin Breen, City Manager
	Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration
	Tanya Haywood, Deputy City Manager of Community Services
	Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering &
	Regulatory Services
	Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works
	Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor
	Elaine Henley, City Clerk
	Ken O'Brien, Chief Municipal Planner
	Maureen Harvey, Legislative Assistant
	Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services

Land Acknowledgement

The following statement was read into the record:

"We respectfully acknowledge the Province of Newfoundland & Labrador, of which the City of St. John's is the capital City, as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk. Today, these lands are home to a diverse population of indigenous and other peoples. We would also like to acknowledge with respect the diverse histories and cultures of the Mi'kmaq, Innu, Inuit, and Southern Inuit of this Province."

1. CALL TO ORDER

2. PROCLAMATIONS/PRESENTATIONS

2.1 Allied Youth Week - February 9-15, 2020

3. <u>APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA</u>

3.1 Adoption of Agenda

SJMC-R-2020-02-10/56 Moved By Councillor Collins Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That the Agenda be adopted as presented.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

4. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES

4.1 Adoption of Minutes - February 3, 2020

SJMC-R-2020-02-10/57 Moved By Deputy Mayor O'Leary Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That the minutes of February 3, 2020 be adopted as presented.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

5. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

- 6. NOTICES PUBLISHED
- 7. <u>COMMITTEE REPORTS</u>

7.1 Development Committee Report - February 4, 2020

1. <u>Crown Land Grant for Extensions of Private Property -</u> CRW2000002, 1005 Main Road

SJMC-R-2020-02-10/58 Moved By Councillor Burton Seconded By Councillor Collins

That Council approve the Crown Land Grant application at 1005 Main Road.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

8. <u>DEVELOPMENT PERMITS LIST (FOR INFORMATION ONLY)</u>

8.1 <u>Development Permits List for the Period January 30 - February 5,</u> 2020

Council considered the above noted for information.

9. BUILDING PERMITS LIST

9.1 Building Permits List for the Period January 30 - February 5, 2020

SJMC-R-2020-02-10/59 Moved By Councillor Hickman Seconded By Councillor Jamieson

That Council approve the Building Permits List for the period January 30 - February 5, 2020.

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

10. REQUISITIONS, PAYROLLS AND ACCOUNTS

10.1 <u>Weekly Payment Vouchers for the Week Ending February 5, 2020</u>

SJMC-R-2020-02-10/60 Moved By Councillor Korab Seconded By Councillor Collins

That Council approve the Weekly Payment Vouchers for the week ending February 5, 2020 in the amount of \$7,288,488.87

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

11. <u>TENDERS/RFPS</u>

12. NOTICES OF MOTION, RESOLUTIONS QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS

12.1 <u>Petition re: Discretionary Use Application - Brewdock Bar & Eatery -</u> 83 Duckworth Street

Councillor Hanlon presented a petition on behalf of residents opposing the above-noted discretionary use application.

13. OTHER BUSINESS

13.1 <u>New Street Names – Furneaux Property Development - Stage 1 –</u> <u>Airports Heights</u>

SJMC-R-2020-02-10/61 Moved By Councillor Stapleton Seconded By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

That Council approve the following four new street names for the proposed Furneaux Property Development in Airport Heights: 1. Avenger Place 2. Electra Drive 3. Hornet Drive 4. Spitfire Drive

For (10): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Burton, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Jamieson, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, and Councillor Collins

MOTION CARRIED (10 to 0)

13.2 Addition to Roll Call

Councillor Lane arrived at the meeting at 4:41 pm.

14. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:57 pm

MAYOR

CITY CLERK