# ST. J@HN'S

Minutes of Committee of the Whole - City Council

Council Chambers, 4th Floor, City Hall

October 28, 2020, 9:00 a.m.

Present:	Mayor Danny Breen Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary Councillor Sandy Hickman Councillor Debbie Hanlon Councillor Deanne Stapleton Councillor Jamie Korab Councillor Ian Froude Councillor Wally Collins Councillor Shawn Skinner
Regrets:	Councillor Maggie Burton
	Councillor Dave Lane
Staff:	Kevin Breen, City Manager Derek Coffey, Deputy City Manager of Finance & Administration Jason Sinyard, Deputy City Manager of Planning, Engineering & Regulatory Services Lynnann Winsor, Deputy City Manager of Public Works Cheryl Mullett, City Solicitor Susan Bonnell, Manager - Communications & Office Services Elaine Henley, City Clerk Maureen Harvey, Legislative Assistant
Others	David Crowe, Manager of Roads Brian Head, Manager of Parks & Open Spaces Betty Clarke, Manager of Corporate Risk & Recovery Natalie Godden, Manager of Family and Leisure Services,

# 1. <u>Call to Order</u>

## 2. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

# Moved By Councillor Stapleton Seconded By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

That the agenda be adopted as presented.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

## MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

## 3. Adoption of the Minutes

## 3.1 Adoption of Minutes - October 14, 2020

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Skinner Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That the minutes of October 14, 2020 be approved as presented

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

## **MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)**

## 4. <u>Presentations/Delegations</u>

## 5. Finance & Administration - Councillor Dave Lane

5.1 Insurance Renewal Negotiations – 2020-21

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Skinner Seconded By Councillor Collins

That Council approve moving from a \$100,000 deductible for its Primary Property insurance to a \$500,000 Self-Insured Retention and purchase just one Excess Property Policy. This would result in a cost savings of \$398,823 plus tax \$59,823.45 for a total of \$458,646.45.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

# **MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)**

## 6. Public Works & Sustainability - Councillor lan Froude

## 6.1 Revisions to the Winter Parking Restrictions

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Hickman Seconded By Councillor Stapleton

That Council reject the recommendation to have the start date of the Winter On-street Parking Restriction for areas outside the Downtown and the Business District Winter Parking Restriction to December 1 each year. This parking restriction is currently implemented in early January and the exact date varies each year.

For (8): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

Against (1): Councillor Froude

# **MOTION CARRIED (8 to 1)**

# Recommendation Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

That Council extend the overnight parking ban in areas outside the downtown, when operationally required. This restriction would apply when the DCM determines it is necessary due to a snow event.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

#### MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

#### Recommendation

Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Councillor Hanlon

That Council revise the hours of Downtown Winter Parking Restriction which is used during snow removal operations. The current restriction is from 12:30 a.m. to 7:30 a.m. and the proposed hours are from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

## **MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)**

#### 6.2 Sidewalk Snow Clearing Priority Revisions

Recommendation Moved By Councillor Froude Seconded By Councillor Hickman

That Council adopt the following sidewalk snow clearing priority system:

Priority 1A	School Zones
Priority 1	First side of arterial roads and downtown business district (main pedestrian corridors)
Priority 2	Second side of multi-lane arterial roads and downtown business district, and first side of collectors

Priority 3	Second side of remaining arterial roads (with both sides serviced)
Priority 4	Second side of collector streets (with both sides serviced) and any remaining sections of sidewalk in program

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

# **MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)**

## 7. <u>Community Services - Councillor Jamie Korab</u>

## 7.1 Inclusion Advisory Committee Report - October 7, 2020

# Recommendation Moved By Councillor Stapleton Seconded By Deputy Mayor O'Leary

That Council review the recommendations put forward by the Inclusion Committee for the Downtown Pedestrian Mall and share with all relevant parties. Recommendations include considering implications for those with vision loss such as wayfinding, indication of an upcoming ramp and obstacles on sidewalks; ensuring ramps meet code, are slip-resistant and lead to a deck that can be maneuvered by a wheelchair; access to accessible washrooms for Pedestrian Mall users; accessible parking located inside the mall was hazardous; and a need for inclusion education amongst business and security staff in the area.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

# **MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)**

# 7.2 Shea Heights Community Centre Board of Directors Structure and Terms of Reference Update

# Recommendation Moved By Councillor Collins Seconded By Councillor Skinner

That Council approve the Shea Heights Community Centre Board structure and outlined changes to the Terms of Reference.

For (9): Mayor Breen, Deputy Mayor O'Leary, Councillor Hickman, Councillor Hanlon, Councillor Stapleton, Councillor Korab, Councillor Froude, Councillor Collins, and Councillor Skinner

## MOTION CARRIED (9 to 0)

- 8. <u>Special Events Councillor Debbie Hanlon</u>
- 9. Housing Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary
- 10. Economic Development Mayor Danny Breen
- 11. <u>Tourism and Culture Councillor Debbie Hanlon</u>
- 12. <u>Governance & Strategic Priorities Mayor Danny Breen</u>
- 13. <u>Planning & Development Councillor Maggie Burton</u>
- 14. Transportation and Regulatory Services Councillor Sandy Hickman
- 15. <u>Other Business</u>
- 16. Adjournment

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 10:38 pm

Mayor